April 4, 2011

CBSP Lovin’, My Sweet Friend Ashley, and She Speaks Dreams

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , , , at 10:32 pm by Katie

I know my blog posting has been sporadic lately.  I wish I was much more dedicated to this blog and keeping it updated on a regular basis, but I haven’t been able to make that happen yet.  At any rate, at least not a whole lot has happened since my last post.  I spent three absolutely wonderful days with some of my CBSP loves in Carolina Beach, NC.  During this trip, I experienced Cookout for the first time (delightful), Bernie-d all over UNCW’s campus (as referenced in the previous YouTube video…which has an absurd number of views now, haha), was attacked by a mass mob of seagulls and crows wanting leftover pancakes, stayed up crazy late watching movies and talking about life with some of my favorite people ever...it was wonderful.  We dubbed it CBSB (Carolina Beach Spring Break)…we just love our acronyms.

I love how our summer project is still in touch even after almost a year.  I can count on a CBSP reference on Facebook at least once a week.  Currently, there are at least two Facebook events with travel plans to reunite over the summer, as well as a support group for another summer project being attended by one of our girls.  When we get together, it’s like we never left.  I’m still in awe of how God brought 40 strangers together over a period of 10 weeks.

I’m also so inspired by some of my lovely friends and the things they are currently doing, especially my friend Ashley.  I met Ashley my senior year of college.  She was the roommate of my friend Becca, who was in my major and offered me a spot in their senior girls’ Bible study, which led (rather quickly, haha) to my acceptance of Christ for the first time.  I could always count on Ashley (along with every other girl in that study) for a smile and a warm, welcome invitation into their lives.  I love Ashley’s heart for the Lord and for others.  She’s currently in the middle of a six month trip to Haiti to serve at a mission there, and every time she updates her blog, I’m basically moved to tears at her beautiful words.  You can read for yourself here.  Just don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Two thoughts to wrap up this post (because, let’s face it…it’s 10:30, my alarm needs to be set for 5, and it’s going to be raining in the morning…I need to be as well rested as possible):

  1. I came across this quote in the Proverbs 31 Encouragement for Today devotion this morning and then came back to it tonight.“But the only antidote to fear is faith.  And courage is not something we find within ourselves.  It is the result of faith, and even that is a gift from God.” – Ariel Allison Lawhon.  So true.  So many times I fear what’s ahead, what’s already past, what’s happening in the here and now instead of just putting my trust in the Lord to get me through it.
  2. I’m about to enter the She Speaks scholarship contest sponsored by She Seeks.  Now listen, y’all…I have no dreams of winning this contest.  There are clearly much, much more qualified writers who should be at the She Speaks conference.  You know, those people who remember to blog more than once a month…haha.  But I’ve always wanted this blog to be more of an encouragement to others, more in line with other blogs that I read and gain so much from, and I feel like this may be an opportunity to do just that.

Have a good night, y’all =)

Leave a Reply

