January 5, 2011

The Unintended Consequences of Waking Up Early…

Posted in CBSP, Spirituality at 7:16 am by Katie

It’s 7:04 am, and I’m blogging.

Yes, I have to go to work today.  Yes, I did sleep (take that, insomnia!).  Yes, I am already showered, dressed, and ready to go.

Yes, I already spent time in the Word this morning.

So…what gives?  Haha.

Well, I’ve discovered the unintended consequence of waking up early and having my quiet time…at 5 am.

Yes…5 am.

Let me just throw a few things out there:

1.  I am by no means a morning person.  Please ask the majority of my friends.  I sincerely dislike waking up early.  I enjoy my sleep.  I am only at work early every morning because I also sincerely dislike being late AND I tend to overestimate how much time I need to battle Cola traffic, find a parking place, and take the shuttle to my office.  Plus, if I leave early, I get a better parking spot.  It’s a win-win.

2.  I also hate having a time limit on my quiet time.  Before the break, I tried waking up at 5:30, having my coffee, and then doing my quiet time.  By the time I settled in, it was 5:40, and then I was constantly looking at the clock because I knew I had to be in the shower by 6.  Because of this, I was more focused on the time limit of my time with God instead of my time with Him.

3.  The morning is the only uninterrupted time I have to spend with the Lord.  If I schedule it for later in the day, it never gets done.  Trust me, I’ve tried (please refer back to #1…I like my sleep!)

So, this year, in the spirit of New Year’s, I decided that I would hop on the early morning bandwagon.  By waking up at 5, I’m settled with my coffee (clearly a necessity at 5 am), my Bible, and my journal by 5:15 at the latest.  That gives me a full 45 minutes with God.

I love it.  Not only can I accomplish what I want to in my quiet time, but I can also read encouraging emails and devotions I receive each day instead of waiting until later.  I can check on blogs that encourage me and inspire me while I’m already in the correct mindset.  I can journal my prayers and put the time and thought into them that they deserve.

So, the unintended consequence of waking up at 5 am (since, you know, that’s where this post started…)

Well, I don’t hit snooze.  So I’m actually out of bed at 5 am.

Which means I’m done with my quiet time by 6.

Which means that this morning, by the time I was showered and dressed and headed into the kitchen to fix lunch, etc…it was 6:35.

But you know what?  I probably won’t wake up any later.  Because having all that time is pretty nice.

 

Side note to this whole conversation about waking up early – I got to talk to several of my project loves last night on Skype.  I went to bed with my heart so happy I could hardly stand it.

2 Comments »

  1. ellen said,

    hooray! i love that you are establishing this habit. as your life gets crazier, you’ll not only be glad you have a routine of rising earlier, you’ll be leaning on it heavily.

    i didn’t get up early this morning. and everyone can tell. 😦

  2. Anna said,

    Good for you Katie! I’ve began to wake up earlier as well realizing it’s much productive to do some things and get a few peaceful minutes to myself in the morning. Adulthood is among us whether we like it or not!


Leave a Reply

