January 2, 2011

Way overdue update…

Posted in Spirituality at 8:13 pm by Katie

Oh, you know, just a slightly overdue blog post…

Seriously, this blog has been neglected like crazy.  I’m hoping that changes with the new year.  If the past two days are any indication, I’ll probably have a lot to blog about.  I’ve had some pretty intense quiet times with God over the past two days, more intense than in a long time.  I love it, especially right now when I’m still on break and can just spend crazy amounts of uninterrupted time soaking up what He has to teach me.  I always feel a little pressed for time during the week when it’s early in the morning, I’m still not awake, and I’m usually checking out the microwave clock to see just how much more time Jesus and I can spend together before I really have to go shower and get ready for work.  So these long stretches of me, my Bible, a new journal (!!), and God are pretty precious to me.

I’m pretty pumped about starting a new journal.  First off, I’m pretty sure I’ve never completely finished a journal in my life.  I’ve always had a hard time being disciplined enough to consistently write in a journal, so I’d get about halfway through and then quit.  But I started with a journal right after I accepted Christ in October 2009, and I finished it, appropriately enough, on New Year’s Eve.  What’s even crazier about finishing it was that it began and ended with the exact same verse, Hebrews 4:12.

For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

The first time I wrote in that journal, it was from a Proverbs 31 devotion with that verse…and I ended it with a different P31 devotion, which also used that verse.  I love those little things that God puts in the life of a Type A like myself =)

Of course, this Type A made some New Year’s Resolutions…or goals, as I like to call them.  I’m going to try to get to the gym more, cook more and eat out less, be smarter with my money, the typical stuff.  I’m also hoping to be much more disciplined in my quiet time and get through the Bible in a year for real this year, instead of fizzling out about a quarter of the way through.

But more importantly, this year I’m just praying for God to stretch my faith.  Every time I say it (or type it or think it), it’s kind of scary.  But I don’t want to get stuck in a rut, and I really feel like He’s calling me to do a little bit more than I am right now.  So, we’ll see where that goes.

I feel like there’s a lot more I want to blog about, but it’s all kind of left me right now, haha.  Hopefully, though, I’ll do a better job of keeping this thing updated in 2011…somebody hold me accountable for that one!

Leave a Reply

